top of page

"Tampon" by Miranda Kross

There’s a little

white

cotton

monster

who lives up my

sleeve,

and it’s angry,

tired,

of hiding,

beneath fabric,

against wrists,

behind shame.

It’s hungry

for blood,

to catch the

falling red,

drawing it deep

into its dry,

scratchy

frame.

It tries to peek out,

to the open places

Where it can’t be seen,

Like in seventh grade

When it caught sight,

Just once,

When it looked to

The boy sitting next to me

In art class,

and the only things

redder than

Our oil pastels

were my cheeks as

I shoved- I shove- it

back up

into my

forearm,

but it screams,

wiggling

and

bulging.

“Show me”

“recognize me”

“accept me”.

Maybe one day,

we’ll walk,

and the power

of feminine creation

will be revered.

Until then,

my monster

must

stay

in the

dark,

and

contain

its

blinding

rage

from

the

world,

until we can

be

alone

together

and

I shove it

up

further

into

Secrecy.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"Hunting" by Genevieve Jaser

1st Place Judge Selection Like a great gazelle had been shot to the ground, I imagine the shape of his body like this belongs anywhere...

Comments


bottom of page