top of page

"Hunting" by Genevieve Jaser

1st Place Judge Selection


Like a great gazelle

had been shot to the ground,

I imagine the shape of his body

like this belongs anywhere but here.

His legs are turned inward, his muscles

Contorted into a circle on my bed,

I tell him I think it’s best to be apart,

The way his long thin legs twist like a

channel of pain in his veins, I know

I’ll remember how it feels to be violated

by my own words.

Let’s go back to sunny slept-through

mornings, no one’s home, no one’s

watching. There were soft arches,

soft sheets. When a man cries, the earth tilts

slightly forward.

I can’t forget cold floors at midnight,

sweating through my shirt. Nothing adds

up but everything comes

back around.

Smoking gun clenched in my hands,

the ease in firing is too much of a rush

His limbs looked more organic when they

possessed free will. Now, raw and mangled,

his big eyes are tightly shut, his mouth left open,

poached, and everything is expertly wound the

wrong way.

Fear is a beautiful thing to

cling to before it reeks like dirty vowels.

Mispronounced un faithful ness,

sticks to me like lint and prickers. Up to my neck

In wooly washes of gray

I wish my teeth fell out every time lied.

The woods have become cold,

The animals have held their breath for a

moment. Turn the heat on.

In August, I’m the devil.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"X-ray" by Nina Bartlomiejczyk

2nd Place Judge Selection Am I a speck of dust irritating the corner of your eyelid? Well, now you have rubbed me, and your eyes have...

Comentários


bottom of page