top of page

"My Parcel" by Christopher Buckridge

With frostbit extremities and my neck craned, I watch

the arborous fireworks of barren winter oaks

vein a crackling black sky.

Stars like salt in dark chocolate make shapes

and tell ancient stories of creatures and feats.

Once from olive groves and public baths, New England winter

disperses their narratives and resets their locale

to above my head.

My head and my feet are protected by layers,

like the mismatched fence defining my lawn: they

surround a rented cold parcel called “me,”

which once thawed will sprout

whatsoever I plant.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"Hunting" by Genevieve Jaser

1st Place Judge Selection Like a great gazelle had been shot to the ground, I imagine the shape of his body like this belongs anywhere...

Comments


bottom of page