top of page

"My Dad the Orange" by Max Vadakin

Everybody twisted their face at me

When I told them my dad was an orange.

The first day the school counselor

Called home, Mom left me at the kitchen counter,

Eating Frosted Flakes while Dad sat right beside me.

I could hear her whisper through the door

Until she came out and patted me on the head.

The school counselor stopped calling after

That day, but Ronnie and TJ kept saying

If it looks like an orange,

Smells like an orange,

It’s an orange,

Until my face would get hot and red,

So I would bite their arms to make

Them feel like I do– something dad would have

Yelled at me for before he was an orange.

One-day Mom accidently buried

Dad under a sandwich in my lunch box.

He was stuck there until snack time.

When I told her about it after school

She cried

And cried and

Cried.

I asked why, but she just said

sorry about that.

I don’t think she was used to him

Being an orange.

Sometimes I wished Dad wasn’t

An orange. He got softer by the

Day and I caught Mom pealing

Black spots from him.

Eventually she couldn’t keep

Up and Dad turned

Furry and green.

We buried him

In the backyard

The next day and

I cried and

Cried and

Cried.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"Hunting" by Genevieve Jaser

1st Place Judge Selection Like a great gazelle had been shot to the ground, I imagine the shape of his body like this belongs anywhere...

Σχόλια


bottom of page